People who don’t like animals are weird.


I’m not sure how long I have until the battery on my iPhone dies, so I’ll make this quick. I’ve decided to do NaBloPoMo again, so it would be embarrassing if I missed the first day.

Sitting in a café, sipping on yet another soy chai, and listening to the Velvet Underground, and to the overly-tattooed barista say “dude” and “man” too much. I’ve just returned from a volunteering session with this high school senior I’ve been mentoring since last October. I helped him pass the reading section of the SAT’s, and now I’m helping him find and apply to scholarships. He’s a good kid – very polite and responsible.

My meeting with the musician didn’t go terribly well on Monday. Well, he was nice enough but we just didn’t click. I could tell we wouldn’t as soon as he walked through the door. You may call that overly judgemental; I’d call it intuition. He was one of those people who don’t like revealing anything about themselves, or care to ask you much about yourself. How the hell are you supposed to have a conversation in that kind of situation? People like that scare me, to be honest. I have realized, through experience, that some people are like that because they’re shy or socially awkward, but this guy wasn’t like that. He was just guarded. Why be guarded? What are you hiding?

I also didn’t like the fact that he completely ignored my cats and dogs. I have well-behaved animals, so it wasn’t like they were all over him, causing mayhem. My dog did sniff around him a bit, and, for some reason, decided she liked him, and lay beside him on the couch but again…nothing. Didn’t acknowledge her existence except maybe a slight sign of irritation. I don’t expect people to love my pets anywhere near as much as I do, or to pay them as much attention, but I find it off-putting when people treat them as an inconvenience, or just simply ignore them. I realize that some people are scared of animals or have alleriges, but this wasn’t this guy. I can’t help but think that people who don’t like animals are missing the compassion gene.

What do you think? Have I got a point?

Tagged: , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “People who don’t like animals are weird.

  1. Noturus April 1, 2010 at 9:01 pm Reply

    I agree you have a point. Like you, I get the fear or allergies, but I don’t understand why some people just plain dislike pets. Oh well, their loss, I guess.

    • petrichoric April 1, 2010 at 9:20 pm Reply

      Damn, that was a quick response! And you’re a new reader, too. However did you find me? Was it because we had the same tags on our last post?

      Yes, it is indeed people’s loss if they don’t like animals. My husband’s mother never let her kids have pets when they were growing up, and I think that’s really sad. I think it’s important for children to be exposed to animals. It teaches compassion and empathy. I also think animals add so much richness to our lives.

  2. Miss V. April 1, 2010 at 11:35 pm Reply

    I completely agree! People who don’t like animals are NOT to be trusted. I’m with you on that. And what is it with this sudden “trend” of excessive tattoos? Since when are trends un-earaseable, totally permanent things? I change my mind constantly.

    je suis TRES contente de faire ta connaissance egalement! Trop excitee pour mettre les accents. Mais en tous cas, je te mets sur mon Blogroll! A bientot sur la toile! :-)

    • petrichoric April 2, 2010 at 12:39 pm Reply

      Hello, glad to find another French-speaking blogger! Silver Tiger (on my blogroll) has a blog in French even though he’s English, so you should check that out.

      Yes, I am not a big fan of tattoos in general. All too often people have pretty unoriginal, tacky tattoos, and I think it’s a shame to deface your body with those. This town is literally crawling with the overly tattooed and overly pierced. I find it a tad annoying really because you can tell they think they’re incredibly alternative and edgy but when you talk to them they’re often quite dull.

  3. Xul April 1, 2010 at 11:44 pm Reply

    I don’t know why some people dislike animals. What’s not to like? Animals are not lying, conniving, selfish, asshole-ish cunts like a lot of people. And they don’t get upset if you want to motorboat their tummies!(well, at least not my dogs)

    If you do decide to go the Klezmer route, just wanted to let you know I can play a mean trumpet! (not that it would help you much from where I live! LOL)

    • petrichoric April 2, 2010 at 12:41 pm Reply

      So, I’ve changed from playing Proclaimers influenced Honky Tonk to Klezmer now?! I’ll certainly let you know if I ever need a trumpet but, well, don’t hold your breath.

      What the hell does “motorboating” a dog’s tummy mean?! You’re always teaching me new phrases.

  4. SilverTiger April 2, 2010 at 3:22 am Reply

    I like all animals, not just the conventionally approved of ones.

    Having said that, I can understand that there may be very many reasons for other people to fight shy of animals, perhaps because of phobias, allergies or bad experiences in the past or just because they have not been brought up to be animal-sympathetic. My own love of animals took off only after my first cat came to join us and taught me so much about cats and the possibilities of their relationships with people. She made me “animal aware”.

    Like your musician, I am not so keen on dogs. The problem is not dogs themselves but dog-owners. There are some very good owners whose animals are a pleasure to know but many are the canine-owning equivalent of over-indulgent parents who allow their charges too much licence. They think it’s OK for their dogs to jump up at you, lick you and put muddy paws all over you without first checking that this is acceptable to you. For example, when I take my cat to the vet’s there are owners who let their dogs approach Freya and seem unaware or uncaring of the annoyance and distress this causes. In short, when I meet people’s dogs, at least for the first time, then despite my love of animals, I tend to be standoffish.

    It’s a shame that things didn’t work out with the musician. I agree that everything needs to be right for there to be harmony (in all senses). If it doesn’t feel right, then the collaboration is not going anywhere and it’s best not to flog a dead horse. Better luck next time. Oh yes, and with the National Blog Posting Month.

    • petrichoric April 2, 2010 at 12:47 pm Reply

      I’m glad that you discovered your love of cats, even if it was later in life. Cats are wonderful, wonderful creatures, and I’m glad I had them growing up as a kid.

      Yes, some dogs can be annoying because of their overly indulgent owners. When I see owners like that, I really hope they don’t have kids because I can’t help but think that their kids will grow up to be spoiled, entitled brats. My dogs are, on the whole, good dogs. My pit bull isn’t very good at coming back when called, and she can be dog aggressive if she meets a dominant dog, but otherwise she’s great; my chihuahua is unlikely to bother anybody as she’s pretty neurotic really, and scared of strangers. I feel a bit bad about that, as I realize now, in retrospect, that maybe I was too protective of her and should have forced her to be around other people more.

      Was Freya a stray? How long have you had her? I must say that I do like a man who appreciates cats. A lot of men are too “macho” to like cats, and think that they’re a “woman’s pet”. Hurrumph.

  5. Noturus April 2, 2010 at 6:40 am Reply

    I found you by using the tag surfer tool in the WordPress dashboard.

    • petrichoric April 2, 2010 at 12:47 pm Reply

      Ah ha! The mystery is solved. Thank you!

  6. Arekino April 2, 2010 at 8:13 am Reply

    Yeah, I don’t get people who just don’t like animals. Maybe it’s a youth trauma or something like that.

    Animals an kids and senior citizens are the easiest to get along with in my experience. They just want some attention or someone to play with (yes, even the old peeps). They also usually have very low standards with regards to the quality of their companys so pretty much any reasonably friendly person will do.

    • petrichoric April 2, 2010 at 12:50 pm Reply

      Yes, you’re right about animals, kids and old people being the easiest to get along with. I don’t know if I agree about animals having low standards, though. I think animals can often spot a dickhead easier than humans can. Humans let their emotions colour their intuition whereas animals pick up on a person’s vibe immediately.

      I was wondering what you would say about animals. I know you’ve said in the past that you can be shy around people, and I wasn’t sure if you felt the same about animals, or if you had a connection to them precisely because of that.

      • Arekino April 4, 2010 at 7:23 am Reply

        I don’t think I can say I have some special connection to animals. They’re just easy to get along with. Kids too. If you’re just nice and not pushy then they’ll accept you quite easily.

        Adults tend to be more choosy. Harder to please. A bit full of them selves. It’s like I should be able to connect to them socially, culturally, emotinally even but I rarely do. I can empathize and sympathize with them but there’s usually a distance I can’t cross.

        • petrichoric April 5, 2010 at 11:33 am Reply

          I don’t feel much of a connection to the vast majority of people I meet. I find that most people are either very dull or untrustworthy, but every so often I come across somebody I really like. Most of the time I form instant bonds with people I like. I’ve hardly ever met someone, disliked them, or been neutral about them, and then become their friend.

  7. williamx April 3, 2010 at 5:43 pm Reply

    Hey good afternoon!

    I’ve always held that as long as little kids and animals like me, I am not too horrible a person. But I get that some people just can’t handle that animals are . . . not human. They can’t relate and are weirded out by their seeminly unpredictable ways. I usually don’t hold that against them too much but I do cast a more jaundiced eye in their direction.

    So . . .hey good luck with the singer gig. Patience is required because it is very difficult to find a crew with which you can create something more than trivial fluff. But trivial fluff can be fun if you just get into it and not worry about being all deep and soulful.

    Good news from williamX. Employment. In my field. For decent pay. Working on video games. If the commute was not so brutal it would be a perfect thing. So . . . yay! Now I am off to a bar to try and seduce a bartender. (Ha! I have a chance . . . we have a history la la la. Wish me luck and some decent conversation. My wit has been failing me of late.)

    • petrichoric April 5, 2010 at 11:31 am Reply

      Hello, Williamx! Glad to see you back again. I was wondering where you were! As regards animals, I wonder if animals liked Hitler. I know he was a vegetarian, but I don’t know if that was for health reasons or ethical reasons.

      Yes, you’re right – it is very, very difficult to find musicians to work with, especially if you’re just the “chick singer”. What I really need to do is buy a MIDI keyboard, learn how to play the damn thing, and then buy a new computer, so I can start composing music myself instead of relying on other people exclusively. Of course, all of that takes money, and I have no spare cash left over for that kind of thing.

      That is fantastic news about your new job! If MM knew I had this blog, he’d be jealous that you’re working in games, as he’d like to get involved in that, too. How did your seduction attempt work? Any luck there?

  8. phd in yogurtry April 5, 2010 at 12:18 pm Reply

    I’d say depends on the animal. I like dogs and cats but I don’t like being licked. And I really don’t like it when dogs sniff my crotch. So sniffers and lickers and jumper-uppers? I get irritated. But friendly dogs that don’t get too up-in-my-business? Yes, acknowledge, give a petting or two, and enjoy the friendly critter.

    I also agree that the musician’s lack of trying to get to know you is a warning sign of someone to dodge.

    • petrichoric April 5, 2010 at 12:51 pm Reply

      I think mosts pets lick, sniff and jump at some point. The problem for me is when the owners just let their pet continue doing so, without correcting the behaviour. As for the musician, I don’t think he was a bad person or anything, but his guardedness made me feel nervous and uncomfortable so, yes, best to avoid people like that.

  9. margaret scully April 19, 2010 at 3:24 pm Reply

    its not that i dont like pets i do had one she died 3 years ago i just feel like people who have pets r rubbing it in like there saying ha ha u dont have a pet dont know why they have to talk about it in front of me gets me very mad cant take it nope

  10. […] I don’t feel good about this. Being bad with plants strikes me as a bit of a character flaw, in the same way that as liking kids. Or puppies. […]

  11. Jennifer December 3, 2010 at 11:15 pm Reply

    Hello :D

    I know you posted this a long time ago, but I just wanted to say that I don’t like animals but doesn’t mean I am untrustworthy or a bad person. I read your description of the musician and it sounds a little like what I would do in the same situation. I am a pretty shy person and my dislike of animals is a mixture of disgust and being afraid. I actually became vegetarian because I think animals are so disgusting that I don’t even want to eat them. I can’t say for sure, but he was probably really nervous about meeting you and your animals made him even more uncomfortable.

    I’m not saying you did anything wrong, I just don’t think you should judge people because they don’t like animals. Seriously, my best friend is an animal lover, and we get along just fine..as long as he keeps his beloved animals away from me

  12. Kofybean January 10, 2011 at 12:47 am Reply

    I don’t like animals. And I especially don’t like other peoples dirty pets.
    Like the guy mentioned in the story, dogs and cats seem to love me, but I don’t love them. I too sigh with irratation of “why me?” when they come around.

  13. sinistermoon February 15, 2011 at 7:08 am Reply

    Hi,

    I dont like animals. Never harmed one in my life and grew up on a farm. I just prefer not to engage with them. I dont even eat them.

    If an animal approaches me or jumps on me I move out of their way or avoid them. I sometimes play with my sisters dog, but more to understand the creature than anything else.

    Dont get annoyed by people who dont engage animals. Its a choice. An indifference to a creature that i dont particulartly want to engage with, because I see no purpose in it.

    • petrichoric February 20, 2011 at 9:25 pm Reply

      Well, fair enough, I suppose. But what is the purpose for a human, then?

  14. Mo September 4, 2011 at 6:05 pm Reply

    I don’t like other people’s animals. I love my animals. But I think it really depends on the breed. I especially dislike enormous dogs that jump, scratch and constantly demand attention. I HATE that. But if your animal is nice, well behaved and clean there should be no problem in the compassion department.

  15. Brenda January 6, 2012 at 10:45 am Reply

    I don’t like animals myself. I don’t see how that’s any different from- say people who are annoyed by the presence of children. I don’t have a problem with it. I don’t like when anyone hurts animals, I just don’t want them jumping on me or licking on me…gross! I don’t care if they’re well-behaved animals either. I don’t like them near me. and that is perfectly fine. Iam not a bad person. I am a great wife and mother of two beautiful children and we live a perfectly normallife….WITHOUT ANIMALS.

    • petrichoric April 28, 2012 at 11:51 pm Reply

      What can I say? I just think it’s weird not to like animals. I understand not wanting to actually have your own pets, just as I can understand not wanting to have children, but how can you not *like* animals?

  16. Scot Frazier March 13, 2012 at 12:32 pm Reply

    I don’t like animals and there is nothing wrong with that so back off !!!! If you don’t like people showing there distaste for you’r animals , KEEP THEM HOME !!!! and keep them the hell away from me !!!!

    • petrichoric April 28, 2012 at 11:56 pm Reply

      I don’t like people who don’t like animals. You know what else I don’t like? People who don’t like animals who don’t know how to spell or use correct grammar.

  17. Suzie April 20, 2012 at 1:07 am Reply

    That is a perfect way to describe these people I was having a hard time finding the right words for non animal people an this just fits perfectly. Thank you

  18. margaret scully June 4, 2013 at 10:41 am Reply

    why is it when you don’t have a pet people think you are a bad person I had pets before lost couple when I was a kid lost one back in 1994 then one back in 2007 I just don’t want to go through it again losing them had one die at the groomers saw one die to

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers