This is why you should spay and neuter your pets!


DSC_0637

I don’t have much time to blog this morning, as I am on a mercy mission. Last night, while out walking my dogs, one of my neighbours alerted me to the fact that there was a tiny, pitiful, very sick kitten by the side of the road. My neighbour, and the other people present, didn’t want to take the kitten home, so I was stuck with it. Sigh.

What could I do, though? I just can’t say no to a sick, injured, lost or hungry animal. I just can’t bear to see them suffer. And this kitten is really sick and really tiny, maybe four weeks old at best?

Another cat is really the last thing I need. If this one lives, this will be my fifth cat. I’m not too sure how good its chances are. It would appear to have a really bad case of the feline herpes virus, and it looks like the virus has also attacked its eyes, as you can see from the (underexposed and blurry…sorry!) picture (if the cat survives, I don’t hold out much hope that its eyes can be saved).

I just wish people would spay and neuter their pets. There are so many stray cats in my neighbourhood, and the vast majority of them are sick and unhealthy. Practically every year I find a new kitten and, even though I will do everything I can to help them if they’re sick, two of them have died on me.

Well, must dash…Off to the vet! I’ll give you all an update later…

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “This is why you should spay and neuter your pets!

  1. Syd September 3, 2009 at 1:48 pm Reply

    I’m glad that you saved the kitten. I did the same about 3 years ago and acquired Rachael who is a healthy cat today. I told her that if she lived, she would never want for a home ever again. I guess that worked. She is such a delight. That’s special to have taken her.

  2. petrichoric September 3, 2009 at 4:22 pm Reply

    Well, like I said, I just can’t say no to an animal in need. There are, however, too many sick and needy animals where I live, so, as I can’t help them all, my rule is that if they somehow come into my life (e.g. as this kitten did when my neighbour called me over), then I’ll help them. Otherwise, I don’t go out of my way to try to catch them. I found another kitten about two months ago, and she got my attention my miaowing pitifully from across the street, and running up to me!

    I’m hoping not to attract any more, though, before leaving this town. It’s just so expensive to take care of four (now five!) cats and two dogs. Well worth it, though.

  3. Judith September 10, 2009 at 8:08 pm Reply

    That poor kitty. I’m glad you were willing to take it in, but I wish people would be more responsible with the pets they have.

  4. petrichoric September 11, 2009 at 12:24 am Reply

    The “poor kitty” is eating me out of house and home! I’ve never seen a cat eat so much! It’s quite incredibly actually. Yes, people should be more responsible but in my neighbourhood it’s probably an effect of poverty. People just don’t have the money to get their pets spayed, or the means to educate themselves about where to go to get it done for free.

Leave a Reply

