Saturday…ballsed up by Benadryl


I’m only here, sitting at my keyboard, because of that bloody NaBloPoMo challenge. I have spent the whole day (from roughly noon to 9:00 p.m.) sleeping off a horrible Benadryl hangover. The bad thing about living where I do in the US is that the climate is warm pretty much year round, so there is nearly always something in bloom to give me chronic hayfever. I thought I had outgrown my childhood asthma until I moved here, and it came back with full force. Yet another reason to leave this place!

Every year it seems there is something new I’m allergic to, so it’s very hard to predict when I’m going to get sick. The first year I was here, my allergies were so bad that I actually had sores inside my nose from having blown it so much. Yuck!

I’ve found that taking quercetin supplements, and drinking nettle tea is a good preventative, but this year I’ve been too broke to buy stuff like that. This morning I tried using my faithful neti pot and when that didn’t work, I knew the only thing for it was to take Benadryl. Usually one of those works like a treat, but I had to take two, and that sent me into a zombie-like trance for most of the day. I’m pissed off, but at least I got lots of sleep. If I hadn’t taken them, I’d have lain around feeling miserable.

Well, I’m off to watch Deadwood on DVD again, and have a few glasses of red wine. Don’t you think that Timothy Olyphant, who plays the character Seth Bullock, is just totally delicious?! Yum!

SethBullock

Tagged: , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Saturday…ballsed up by Benadryl

  1. Xul September 19, 2009 at 10:58 pm Reply

    If your allergies are that bad, then NEVER move down to my neck of the woods! There are so many tropical things to be allergic to that you would probably die! As an amateur herbalist, all I could possibly recommend is maybe taking a vitamin C supplement. If I remember correctly, you’re a vegan? So it’s not like you’re consuming any dairy to exacerbate the problem. A good probiotic might help since the immune system starts in the gut and improving immune function will help with allergies. Well,that’s my two cents worth! Hope you feel better soon.

    And your Mr. Olyphant there looks mighty fine! I wouldn’t mind him showing up in my dreams unlike having Gordon Brown and his wonky eyes harassing me. That’s what I get for reading UK blogs before going to bed!

    • petrichoric September 23, 2009 at 1:59 pm Reply

      Ugh! Gordon Brown in your dreams!? I hope it wasn’t a sex dream! Yes, Timothy Olyphant is pretty damn sexy even though I find the name “Timothy” one of the least arousing names possible. Also, I think I’m perhaps only attracted to the character of Seth Bullock, and not the real Timothy Olyphant, as I googled him and didn’t think he was as cute in real life.

      As regards my allergies, don’t worry…I will not be moving to your neck of the woods any time soon! If I move anywhere, it will hopefully be somewhere with seaons where the cold will kill off all those nasty pollen-producing plants. I already take a probiotic, but I will try your Vitamin C suggestion! Thanks!

  2. Terry September 20, 2009 at 2:08 pm Reply

    Olyphant isn’t my type…lately I have been drooling over Fringe’s Joshua Jackson.Yummy. Campfire, marshmallows, naked under a blanket…sigh.

    • petrichoric September 23, 2009 at 2:00 pm Reply

      I googled Joshua Jackson, and, while I wouldn’t kick him out of bed for farting, he’s not really my type. Looks too clean cut. But so, alas, is Timothy Olyphant when he’s not in character.

  3. LazyBuddhist September 22, 2009 at 6:40 pm Reply

    Ahhhhh Deadwood and the yummy Mr. Olyphant. Damn, shit, fuck! I miss that show.

    Oh, and re: Benedryl – I would never take one of those when I am expected to be awake. In fact, I don’t even take them for allergies (though I have plenty, I just overuse my asthma inhaler), I only take the Benedryls when I can get 8 hours of conked out sleep.

    • petrichoric September 23, 2009 at 2:03 pm Reply

      Hello, Lazy Buddhist! And welcome!

      My husband and I just finished season 2 of “Deadwood”, and I’m distraught as I don’t know what I’ll do when we finish the 3rd and final season.

      As regards Benadryl, I sometimes have to take them, as they’re the only antihistamines that work when my allergies are really bad. The non-drowsy ones don’t work very well, and take ages to have even the little effect that they do.

Leave a Reply

