Comment, for fuck’s sake!


I came home this evening from a volunteer training session and immediately checked my email in the hope that I’d find at least one wee comment on yesterday’s post. But no! Not a single comment – and that despite the fact that poor Petrichor here nearly left the realm of mortals yesterday because of a careless driver!

Come on, people! Comment, goddamn you! I’m not just writing this blog for the good of my health, you know…well, OK, so actually I am….but still! Show me some love!

Yesterday I finished the NaBloPoMo September challenge (i.e. blogging every day for a month), and yet not a tiny word of congratulations from anybody? No? Sigh. Oh, what an underappreciaed, unloved blogger I am.

I do worry sometimes about having lost a bit of my mojo over at this blog. I worry that getting married, and no longer having quite the same need to seek solace in the blogosphere, has made me a bad writer. I also worry that writing every day with a time constraint (I try to take no longer than one hour for each post) has made my writing duller, too. Oh, but what if it has?! I can’t go through life being miserable, depressed and single just so more people comment on my blog. I really like what Julia Cameron, author of The Artist’s Way, has to say about the romantic myth of suffering for your art:

“Art isn’t really born from pain – rather it’s just that the pain focuses our attention on the details”

I will leave you with that thought while I go off to drown the sorrow of your terrible neglect in red wine and an episode of my beloved “Deadwood”. Goodnight, you miserable non-commenting bastards.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Comment, for fuck’s sake!

  1. Xul October 1, 2009 at 11:28 pm Reply

    Damn, woman! Calm thyself! Good on ya for completing the NaBloPoMo challenge. I couldn’t be arsed to post something every day. I was doing well just to get over here to comment and then I miss one day and all hell breaks loose! LOL

    • petrichoric October 3, 2009 at 12:09 am Reply

      Well, that’s what happens when you spoil me by commenting every single night immediately after I’ve just written a post!

  2. Daisy October 2, 2009 at 5:58 am Reply

    Congratulations on NaBloPoMo!!! You did so well – I was seriously impressed to see the reams of writing coming from over here – I came over yesterday and read through the ones I’d missed but then had to leave my desk and couldn’t comment! But I am now! And will continue to! I’m not sure about the pain and the writing – I find being bored helps me write better than anything, rather than being miserable and busy, like most of the time at the moment….

    • petrichoric October 3, 2009 at 12:13 am Reply

      Being bored doesn’t make me want to write. Instead, it makes me feel as if my brain cells are dying off. On the other hand, writing makes me feel a helluva lot better and less bored, but it’s getting started that’s the problem when I’m fed up.

  3. justme October 2, 2009 at 9:55 am Reply

    Your writing is CERTAINLY not dull, and I do come an read, honest! I am just useless at commenting. Sometimes I read a post and then go away meaning to come back and comment later ( when I am reading on my Blackberry, I don’t ever comment ) but then of course I either forget, or, more than likely, I can’t think of anything, witty, relevent or interesting to say….
    Sorry! Will try harder.
    Promise!

    • petrichoric October 3, 2009 at 12:14 am Reply

      Aye, aye…excuses, excuses! Yes, please try harder, unless you want a good spanking from Auntie Petrichor.

  4. Terry October 2, 2009 at 10:40 am Reply

    Wouhou Giddyup Cowboy ! Is that enough of a comment ? 🙂
    Congrats on the Nablopomo challenge ! I finished mine too you know. I didn’t miss a single day. Patting my back right now.
    I worry about the same thing…I have a boyfriend, things are stable at work and all around, I’m talking to my sister again (not much but more than hello), I’m off meds and off therapy, what could possibly be exciting enough for me to write about, right ? I too feel I have lost my spling. Oh well. I’ll just have to write whatever and people will have to be content with what I give them. So will your readers.

    • petrichoric October 3, 2009 at 12:16 am Reply

      Yes, I saw that you did the NaBloPoMo challenged, too. And you were so disciplined about it…posting each day at the same time! Wow! I wish I had your self-discipline, I tell you. No, you are not boring because your life is more stable. It’s quite fascinating to see how things have changed so much for you by flipping back and forth between your NaBloPoMo blog, and your other ones. My only wish is that you only had one blog, as I get very confused about which blog is where sometimes.

  5. phd in yogurtry October 2, 2009 at 4:25 pm Reply

    I would have read, and then commented, last night had I not worked late, then driven through all that god-awful ACL traffic at rush hour, and back, and then had to get up at the fucking crack-ass of dawn to return back to the city, through the 8am ACL-is-now-begun traffic, for a meeting downtown.

    Congrats on the noblowpomo (which actually means, no-blow-poor-moi)

    and now, a little return comment love would be appreciated here, too, since I keep staring at a little “O” in my comment box.

    • petrichoric October 3, 2009 at 12:17 am Reply

      I’m coming, dear PhD in Yogurtry, I’m coming!

Leave a Reply

