No porridge drawer yet.


ronniebarker It’s nearly midnight and I’m too tired to post anything substantial, so you’ll just have to make do with this, I’m afraid..

Today was yet another boring Sunday. I didn’t get up until around midday, which I hate, as then I feel like the whole day has been wasted. But that’s what you get when you stay up until 5:00 a.m. watching episodes of “Deadwood”. There have been more Saturday evenings spent at home recently watching “Deadwood” than I care to remember. I’d like to go out but I’m broke, and I have nothing decent to wear anymore.

All I’ve had to eat today is a bowl of bloody porridge, so I really need to go and eat something now. Midwestern Man and I were going to go out for lunch today, but we eat out far too much, so I insisted that we have porridge instead. It was the only thing I had to eat in the house, which is really quite depressing. Midwestern Man wasn’t happy about the porridge, but, ach, things could be worse. If I have to start pouring the porridge into a drawer, waiting for it to harden and then cutting it into slices for a “tasty” lunch treat (as they apparenly once used to do in “the motherland”), we’ll know that we’ve really hit rock bottom.

By the way, does anybody who’s not British even get the relevance of the photo accompanying today’s post?

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “No porridge drawer yet.

  1. Reluctant Blogger October 5, 2009 at 4:10 am Reply

    Well, obviously the photo makes perfect sense to me but I won’t say why so that your non-British readers have to engage their brains and work it out for themselves.

    I love porridge. I often eat it for lunch. It is one of the few things I can eat just before I run. I guess cos it is so heavy that it doesn’t bounce about like other food does.

    You sound glum. Hope you are feeling bouncier by the time you read this.

  2. pandabox33 October 5, 2009 at 6:15 am Reply

    Maybe it’s because of the porridge but when I saw the picture I thought of Oliver Twist. Now that I think of it…the whole post makes me think of Oliver Twist. Maybe the husband could bring over some food ? That way you would eat something else to get your energy up and you could go running, walking, etc.
    There’s nothing wrong with staying home and watching TV series unless you’re unsatisfied with that.
    Big hugs because it’s the only thing I can do for you.

  3. Xul October 5, 2009 at 10:48 pm Reply

    Hmm, let’s see…looks like Ronnie Barker from that “Porridge” sitcom.

    I love porridge but it has to be the proper kind that is cooked and not that instant crap. I feel your pain as far as not being able to go out is concerned. I haven’t been anywhere in ages and I’m in desperate need of some new clothes. I’m starting to look like I just crawled out of the donation bin!

  4. justme October 7, 2009 at 10:26 am Reply

    I love porridge, but for some reason only eat it hot in winter…..that would be around now then! Lately I have been soaking the oats in fruitjuice overnight, then adding yogurt and fruit to it in the morning. Lovely!
    Must buy some more.
    Though eating it because you HAVE to, IS a bit depressing….

Leave a Reply

