“And so to bed”


The title for this post just popped into my head (for it is, indeed, off to bed that I am heading) and I wondered where I had heard it before. I just googled it and apparently it was Samuel Pepys, the famous English diarist, who used it, at the end of every diary entry. Ye cannae say that you don’t get educated on this blog, eh?!

samuel_pepys_blogger

It’s interesting, isn’t it?, that a seventeenth century man is most famous for his diary. Sometimes I feel so self-indulgent and pathetic when I write on here every day about my life, and my little insecurities, but it just goes to show that people have been doing it for centuries, and nosy parkers will always be interested.

However, I digress…

The bedtime title of today’s post is because it is nearly 10:30 p.m*. and I really, really, really want to try to start getting into a habit of going to bed much earlier, around the same time each night, if possible. I have never been one who likes going to bed early because I always feel like I’m missing something if I do. In nearly thirty-two years on this planet, however, nothing really exciting has ever happened to me when I purposefully stayed up late. You’d think I would learn, wouldn’t you?, but nope.

If I had a normal job, and had to be at work every day at a certain time, I’m sure my bad bedtime habits would sort themselves out by sheer dint of necessity. That’s what used to happen, anyway. However, with the massage, I can start when I want, and I often I do. I’ll end up staying up late, surfing the internet pointlessly, just because I don’t have a job and responsilities to attend to the next morning. I know that some sex workers love the freedom of this job, but it’s really not for me. The lack of routine and structure makes me feel unstable and confused. I find it hard to be productive and get anything done.

Yesterday, when I was reading more about Ayurveda and about my body type, Vata, I saw that it’s really important for me to get to bed early, and get up early, too. Routine is apparently also essential. This is something I’ve always known about myself, so I need to make some lifestyle changes.

And so to bed!

* Now, it’s nearly 11:30 p.m. because Midwestern Man brought me a brownie, and we chatted for a while. Sigh. At least I’ll be going to bed before midnight. Still a major change for me.

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on ““And so to bed”

  1. yogurtry October 14, 2009 at 10:11 am Reply

    Night owl here. My goal as well. Has been for years and years. I have that same feeling at bedtime. It feels as if I’m leaving a party early, before the fun crowd has arrived. These days, once I finally make it into my pajamas and crawl into bed, I’m relieved. It feels good. Like, why didn’t I get in here earlier? This is progress.

    • petrichoric October 14, 2009 at 11:57 am Reply

      Once I’m actually in bed, I like it because I enjoy the feeling of actually having chosen a specific time to go to sleep instead of just falling into bed with sheer exhaustion. It’s also nice to lie in bed at night and read.

      Apparently, my body type, “Vata” has issues with insomnia due to stress, but that’s one characteristic that most certainly does NOT apply to me! I think I stay up so late that I’m so sleep deprived by the time I get to bed that I fall asleep five seconds after my head hits the pillow.

  2. Fantastic Forrest October 14, 2009 at 11:05 am Reply

    Thanks for educating us readers about Samuel Pepys! I found this: http://www.pepysdiary.com/ I think what I like most about diaries is when people reference political or newsworthy events in the context of their daily lives.

    Since you feel “unstable and confused” by your lack of structure, it makes sense that you’re considering some lifestyle changes. Are you exploring another line of work, one in keeping with your need to get up early? I think I’d better go check out that Ayurveda link for my own planning purposes.

  3. petrichoric October 14, 2009 at 12:10 pm Reply

    Hello, and thanks for the link to his diary. I think I’ll stick a link to it on my blogroll – although we’re about eight years behind the first entry! Damn!

    Yes, I also like it when people manage to combine the personal and the political in their blogs (something you do quite well actually). I don’t think I could do it really, as I’m so fucking verbose I’d need a whole new blog if I was going to start dealing with the political as well.

    As regards exploring new career options… well, I can’t do that until I have a work permit. I can’t send off my application for a work permit, and conditional permanent resident status until I’ve saved up the fucking $1355 the US government “needs” in order to process the forms. I’ve got about $900 saved up so far, and it’s been a very slow process. Even once I’ve sent off my application, it will take around 3 months for me to get a work permit.

Leave a Reply

