Lost Voice


I spent most of yesterday’s post bitching about how I was getting more and more sick of my husband’s rants about my behaviour. There was nothing I wanted more than for him just to shut the fuck up, because he was wearing me down.

Today I got my wish! He has completely lost his voice! He can only talk in the tiniest of whispers, and even then it’s a struggle.

Obviously I’m not really happy about it, as I would never intentionally wish any harm on him. Nonetheless, it is pretty funny, and ironic, that he cannot speak. In a way, his lost voice has come at a good time because it means that we can’t argue no matter how much we may want to. We’ve basically been forced to be nicer to each other.

I spent a good part of this morning looking up couples therapy options online. I think it would be really good for us to learn how to communicate better with each other, as it’s pretty obvious we can’t do that.

Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “Lost Voice

  1. justme October 21, 2009 at 10:19 am Reply

    That is really quite amusing…..

    • petrichoric October 21, 2009 at 10:52 pm Reply

      Yes, and he still can’t speak today!

  2. whittmadden October 21, 2009 at 11:32 am Reply

    I found your blog doing the Readomattic on WordPress. I saw that you were looking up couples therapy, so I thought I would suggest this one http://foreverfamilies.com/ They have a wonderful ministry there, and hope that you might check them out. Regardless if you do or not, I will be praying for both of you, and hope that things will improve for the two of you.

    • petrichoric October 21, 2009 at 10:55 pm Reply

      Well, thanks for popping by my blog and leaving your suggestion. Unfortunately I don’t think I’ll be trying it out, though, as I’m not a Christian. I particularly don’t like so-called Christian organizations which seem to be money-making ventures as this one seems to be.

  3. pandabox33 October 21, 2009 at 5:29 pm Reply

    I hope you find a great therapist !

    • petrichoric October 21, 2009 at 10:56 pm Reply

      Thanks but we probably won’t be able to afford one for ages, as everything costs a fortune in this bloody country (especially if you don’t have health insurance).

  4. Judith October 23, 2009 at 9:17 am Reply

    Lmao. I know church sort of sucks, but you might be able to finagle free therapy out of it if you find a decent minister. Just a suggestion ( and I don’t go to church at all — I’m just thinking of getting value and face time).

Leave a Reply

