Her smile


photo1

I wish I had taken a better picture of the girl in the chequed shirt. If I had, you’d see what an absolutely stunning smile she has. She’s not really my type, but there’s just a certain depth and sweetness to her you don’t normally see in people in bars. The only word I can think of to describe her is “natural”…pretty pathetic really. I’ve always hated that word… when are guys ever described as “natural”?

After looking at her, I surveyed the bar, and most people looked so shallow and crass. I wonder what people think when they see me across a crowded bar? I wonder if I seem interesting…maybe I come off as a total dullard.

To quote my most famous countryman…”Oh wad some power the giftie gie us tae see oorselves as ithers see us” (or, um, something like that).

Composed on my iPhone, so please excuse any typos!

Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “Her smile

  1. phd in yogurtry November 9, 2009 at 12:25 am Reply

    I’d probably be better off not hearing what strangers think of me because I’d probably hear that they think I’m a sour puss and that I should smile more. It would ruin my pleasant outing.

  2. Reluctant Blogger November 9, 2009 at 7:03 am Reply

    Yes, I do often wonder what others think of me. Although I suspect it is probably better not to know.

    When I am out I often try to locate someone interesting or attractive to watch – try to work out what they are like, what their situation is etc. It’s more fun if it’s someone pretty or intriguing in some way, but some times I choose a man or someone just because they are on their own.

    Hope you are feeling better.

  3. PandaBox33 November 9, 2009 at 9:11 am Reply

    Welcome back !
    I hope you post every day again, I missed your prose. And your comments ! 🙂
    http://pandabox33.wordpress.com

  4. Fantastic Forrest November 14, 2009 at 2:38 am Reply

    Her smile comes through even though the lighting is dim. I have a few friends like that – they just light up a room.

    When are we starting the online book group? Which book should we be reading?

  5. Arekino November 14, 2009 at 6:55 am Reply

    Well, I know how certain people see me. Some see me as someone who doesn’t pay his bills on time and therefore should not be allowed to have internet access at home or even have a home. Others probably see me as some pathetic fool who mysteriously disappears at the drop of a hat. Then there are those who think of me as a helpful person but never as a friend.

    I think a smile can be of the winning type and I’ve always enjoyed the scent of rain on dry earth.

    • petrichoric November 18, 2009 at 3:24 am Reply

      The return of Arekino! About bloody time. I thought you were dead! Whatever happened?!

Leave a Reply

