Born to Run


Well, as you can see, my NaBloPoMo intentions have fallen by the wayside somewhat. In fact, I didn’t even make it to Day 2! Oh, well. It’s Day 5 now, so I’m going to congratulate myself for not giving up completely.

I failed miserably to post on Day 2 because I got up really early that morning to go trail running in a nearby greenbelt, and I was so tired later that night that I fell asleep before blogging. As you can see from the pictures below, the trails, and the view, were quite beautiful, so it was almost worth it to see them and fuck up NaBloPoMo.

Unfortunately my iPhone camera couldn't really capture the beauty of the view.

If you look at the very top of all the trees in the picture above, you might just be able to make out some sort of building. I think it’s somebody’s house! It must be so wonderful to live up there, surrounded by trees and sky.

A rare overcast day.

There is something just so wonderful about trail running and, for all of my bitching about the town I live in now, I would probably never have tried it if I hadn’t moved here. In fact, I probably wouldn’t even have got into road running. There are many, many things lacking in this town, but one very good point is that the great climate makes it possible to do outdoorsy activities year round. And, then, of course, there are some fantastic greenbelt areas close by. I wasn’t able to get to them before I owned a car but now that I do, I can go all the time! Friday was the first day that I really felt a sense of freedom from owing a car because it was the first time (why?!) I’d used it to get out into nature. I want to take my dogs to a different park or trail every week. My only regret is that my pit bull mix can be dog aggressive so I don’t feel comfortable letting her off the leash. It worries me that I’m ruining her quality of life by not allowing her to roam freely.

A couple of weeks ago I entered a 30K trail race, and I was the 3rd woman, which was quite an achievement given that I’m somewhat bored of running these days, and hadn’t really trained properly for the race. I’d have thought twice about entering a 30K road race, but I seem to be able to run, and run, and run forever on the trails without feeling much discomfort. I think it’s because I’m so busy trying to avoid tripping over rocks and tree roots that I don’t have time to focus on how shitty I’m feeling.

Despite how good running (whether on roads or trails) is for me, I have a hard time forcing myself to get off my lazy arse in the morning and out the door. Ideally, I’d get up incredibly early and run, but I’ll always find some excuse to stay in bed, and convince myself that I’ll run “later”. Very often I’m too tired to run “later” or I’ll do it but right in the middle of the afternoon, so my day is split annoyingly in half.

I wonder if I’ll ever be able to get into a routine, and develop some self-discipline? Sigh.

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “Born to Run

  1. phd in yogurtry April 5, 2010 at 8:17 am Reply

    Those are some beautiful trails. Congratulations on your 3rd place finish! Wow, that is incredible. I’d be lucky to finish walking such a race.

    • petrichoric April 5, 2010 at 11:21 am Reply

      Well, it’s not like I just got up one morning and randomly decided to run 30K. I’ve been running long distances since 2007, so I’ve been training (even if in a rather lazy and haphazard fashion). In other words, if you trained, of course you could do it too!

  2. Arekino April 6, 2010 at 4:44 am Reply

    Congrats on the 3rd place! And you didn’t especially train for that? That’s remarkable. It means you have a talent for this, I think. Your body is just geared towards long distance running.

    Beautiful pics BTW. We have some woods over there but nothing that spectacular.

    • petrichoric April 6, 2010 at 10:50 am Reply

      Yes, I definitely have the body for long-distance running – pretty skinny and lean, and I’ve always been good at endurance sports. I’ve never done a 5K, but I don’t think I’d be any good, and I can’t imagine being a sprinter. I hate short bursts of intense pain; I’d rather have less pain for long periods.

      I’ve never thought that the Netherlands would be especially beautiful scenery-wise. I imagine there are places that are really pretty, but not jaw-droppingly gorgeous. I’m biased, though, as I don’t especially like flat landscapes.

      • Arekino April 7, 2010 at 6:19 am Reply

        I suspect you’re largely correct about the Netherlands not having a lot of great scenery. It’s a country as flat as a pancake, mostly. If you want hills you have to go to provinces like Limburg or Zeeland. And I suppose the Veluwe is also rather nice in that respect.

  3. ultrarunnerbrianphilpot April 6, 2010 at 11:00 am Reply

    Good job on the race! Trail running is just a great way to get away from everything!

  4. Xul April 6, 2010 at 9:41 pm Reply

    Those trails are just begging for a mountain biker to ride ’em! 😉

    That’s pretty cool that you can place third just like that. It must be nice to have running as a natural ability. I never was any good as running any distances. I’m more suited to feats of strength.

  5. Arekino April 17, 2010 at 6:08 am Reply

    Hi petrichor,

    How are you doing? Did you have any more meetings with musicians? Win any races? Treated any sick pets? Inquisiting minds want to know 🙂

Leave a Reply

