Back at the altar


So here I am back at my sacrificial altar, having a less-than-appetising lunch of leftovers from last night’s take-away. My “bucolic” reveries have been interrupted by two people so far. I’m surprised more people don’t come out here from the office. But Americans are wusses when it come to heat, and they’re scared of their own sweat.

I’ve fallen off the NaBloPoMo bandwagon, so the urge not to post is strong.

I’m feeling hungover after getting together with my new friend from Pittsburg with whom I hope to make music. I only had two Bud-Lites, but, on last night’s empty stomach, even that was enough to make me feel nauseous today. I will drink Bud-Lite if that’s the only thing that’s on offer but it seems like such a pointless beverage really. It’s poor quality and it tastes like dish water. Why even bother buying it? I know I’m an elitist, but there’s part of me that looks down on the Bud-Lite drinkers of this world.

I don’t know how things are going to pan out music-wise with this guy. I have a feeling that I need someone with more direction who knows what he’s doing.

Of course, what I really need to do is to make music myself to accompany my vocals and learn how to record it, too. I’m taking piano lessons for that reason but it’s such slow going. And I haven’t even attempted to use GarageBand yet. Even though it must be the most user-friendly and simple music software around, I’m still intimidated by the technology. Plus, I need money for a mic and an audio interface….money I don’t have.

All of my goals seem so unattainable. Like I said in my last post, I wish that someone could just take over my life and tell me what to do.

And back to the office it is for 5 more hours of mind-numbing work.

Tagged: , ,

8 thoughts on “Back at the altar

  1. xul August 8, 2011 at 8:17 pm Reply

    Hello Petrichor, mi amor! Don’t worry, you aren’t the only beer snob here. I can’t stand Budweiser products either. I’m currently swilling a Busch(but only because I’m poor). I prefer Chimay or the the stuff from Arekino the AWOL’s country.

    But Americans are wusses when it come to heat, and they’re scared of their own sweat. Ah, yes. This is true. Guilty as charged! And don’t forget heat plus humidity! LOL

    I didn’t know you played piano.

    I’d love to help you with the telling you what to do but unfortunately I’ve been taking prescription strength Fukitol lately.

    • petrichoric August 9, 2011 at 11:06 pm Reply

      I, naively, looked up “Fukitol”, not realizing what you meant. I do need a prescription, though!

      And I don’t play piano – I just started taking lessons, so I’m attempting to play!

  2. williamx August 9, 2011 at 1:08 am Reply

    Holy Shit!
    Dude, you can provide a little of the direction to this dude. First of all exert your Scottish Privilege and insist on adequate adult beverages when hanging out speaking of music making.
    second of all sing your heart out and bang on the keys a little and say ‘Look dude, let’s rock.”
    Forgive my flippant and out of control commentary on your last few posts. It’s been fun catching up and I am deeply exhausted from five days of traveling debauchery. A college reunion of sorts and a reminder that I have people I can count on scattered about the world. Good times.

    • petrichoric August 9, 2011 at 11:05 pm Reply

      Hello, Williamx. I was wondering where you had got to. I was about to send you an angry email, demanding that you comment!

      Well, I *am* a control freak, so I usually don’t have a problem taking control; however, when it comes to music, I am not actually a musician, so I need someone who’s better at playing instruments to provide the tunes, so I’ve got something to base my vocal melody on. It’s not that he’s not a good musician, but I just don’t think he’s necessarily a “leader”, and I think that’s what I need right now, until I find my own musical feet a little.

      Glad to hear that you’ve been having fun recently!

  3. rafgeymir August 12, 2011 at 12:59 pm Reply

    Hey there!
    Speaking of beer snobs: You guys are not alone! What can I say- living in Bavaria automatically makes you a total beer snob wherever you go… 😉
    I would not even count BudLite as beer. It’s rather a not-even-refreshing-soft-drink.
    And about your musical plans: I think it’s so great you started to take piano lessons. There are certainly some cool songs you can play with just a few chords. Most punk rock songs don’t need more than 3 or 4 guitar chords…

    • petrichoric August 18, 2011 at 9:54 pm Reply

      Ah, yes. Bavarian beer. I can remember going to a monastery somewhere outside of München, and having exquisite beer. To make beer like that, those monks couldn’t have been spending all that much time reading the Bible!

  4. phdinyogurtry August 18, 2011 at 12:39 am Reply

    You will think this lame but I don’t like Bud Lite either. It tastes watery. No flavor. However, I do like, and most of the time I order Miller Lite. I’ve always wondered if I could tell the difference in a side-by-side taste test. Because to a true beer drinker from a country such as yours? Laughable, these American brews.

    • petrichoric August 18, 2011 at 9:52 pm Reply

      Nooooooo, not Miller Lite! I don’t really know the difference between Bud Lite and Miller Lite, and I can’t say I want to. Bad beer is just bad beer. But there are plenty of good American beers these days – not the big corporate brands, of course, but there are so many little independent brewers who make great stuff.

Leave a Reply

