Bad Paint Job


Sometimes it’s the small everyday things that hurt the most after a break-up…things that you would never have noticed pre-break-up or maybe dismissed as unimportant.

When we moved into our new house just a few weeks before the cataclysmic breakdown of our marriage, MM painted some of the walls a deep pinkish-red colour – just the way I had always wanted it. Once he moved out, I started noticing tiny, almost imperceptible patches on the walls where the old colour was shining through. Somehow that filled me with unbearable sadness. I fell against the wall, sobbing, and the only thing I could say over and over again through my tears was…

you missed a spot

you missed a spot

you missed a spot

you. missed. a. spot.

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Bad Paint Job

  1. Qu Terry September 12, 2012 at 7:44 pm Reply

    The broken pieces left behind after a shattered relationship are usually the most stressful and emotional things to deal with. I was the same way after I had lost my last girlfriend. There were times where I couldn’t even watch or look at certain movies… The greatest thing of all is that you become so much stronger after the first few emotional outbreaks. Don’t worry we are all humans.

  2. petrichoric September 12, 2012 at 9:06 pm Reply

    I know it gets better, Qu Terry. I had a huge break-up maybe 9 or so years ago and, well, I’m still alive. In many ways, that break-up was worse – even though the relationship only lasted eighteen months – because I spent the whole time chasing that guy, trying to get some scraps of love. At least MM loved me, or, rather, he thought he loved me. Sometimes I think he didn’t have a clue who I was.

    The only thing that doesn’t get better is knowing that I’m still alone all those years after that first break-up. Will I ever be in a happy, healthy relationship? Will there ever be an end to this?

  3. williamx September 12, 2012 at 9:27 pm Reply

    I feel weird for saying that’s kind of beautiful.

    • vicariousrising September 16, 2012 at 10:56 am Reply

      I agree… about the post being beautiful, i mean.

Leave a Reply

