Daily Archives: October 17, 2009

Atchoo! Atchoum! Hatschie!


bidet

The title of my post refers to the sound you make when you sneeze (in English, French and German respectively). Yup, I’ve got allergies again. Ugh! This is awful. Will there ever be an end to whatever it is in the air that’s making me so miserable?! I refuse to take any anti-histamines, as I like to avoid medication whenever possible. Instead, I’ve just been using my neti pot. Apparently neti pots have been flying off the shelves ever since Oprah featured them on her show last year.

Sometimes I realize just how much Midwestern Man must really love me because he actually sat in the bathroom and watched me use my neti pot, and appeared not to be grossed out. For those of you who don’t know what a neti pot is, you’re essentially washing your nose out. It doesn’t look pretty. Snot just drips out everywhere.

I wonder if there will be a time when Midwestern Man and I will feel comfortable taking a shit in front of each other. It would almost be kind of endearing and sweet if we could. I don’t know if I could ever do it, though. Whenever I was in the early stages of a relationship, I always hated having to take a crap in my boyfriend’s place. I’d be really worried he’d hear the “plop” sound, so much so that I’d stuff the loo with toilet paper to disguise it! Ha ha! When I lived in Berlin, I knew this Swiss girl who told me that she once spent three whole days at her new boyfriend’s house, and didn’t take a shit the whole time because she was too worried about stinking up the bathroom! The shit she had when she got back home must have been the most enjoyable of her life! It’s funny because that detail is the only thing I really remember about that girl. I’ve forgotten everything else about her.

Wow, how on earth did I get started writing about shit? Not that I mind that really, but that wasn’t the plan for tonight’s post. No, instead I was just going to say “goodnight” (I’m off to bed to read) and to tell you to recommend a book for my new Blogger Bookgroup idea. Come on! Stop dilly-dallying, people! Just do it!